Summer Projects 2013

I have two exciting projects currently in pre-production for this summer.

The first is a short film called “The Shame Spiral.” It is written and directed by Roberta McDonald, and I (& drawnonward) will be producing the film – the first time I am producing something that I am not also directing – yay for new and exciting avenues of filmmaking!

“The Shame Spiral” goes to camera in June and we’ve launched an Indie-gogo campaign to help us raise the money to make the film happen. You can check it out here. The film is about our need to connect, and how we punish ourselves so mercilessly when we doubt our own impact. Life is difficult, and the Shame Spiral is an exploration of one woman’s struggle to see her own beauty and grace. A timely topic in our modern world and something I am very excited to be a part of bringing to the screen. Probably the most important thing about this project for me is to be able to support another female filmmaker in her dream to make a film.

The second project I’m working on is a short film that I am directing with the lovely students of the 2013 class at Langara College. Langara Film Arts is my film school, my second family and I love coming back every year I can to meet the new students and, whenever possible, assist them in the making of their films. The film I will be directing is called “Reaperville” and  is about a young man who is being punished in his afterlife for being a selfish person in life, and the personal struggle he faces when he is forced to watch his still-living girlfriend as she suffers a fatal car accident. Sort of philosophical, existential, but also beautifully poignant in this selfish era we live in. I am extremely excited about making this film and I look forward to being able to share more updates as we get closer to the shoot.

Both of these projects are filming in June, which means a hectic schedule for me! But if you know me at all, you know I absolutely THRIVE on being busy.

I am also hoping to complete a second draft of my feature film IIDENT by the end of May, and went on a job interview today for a position as an on-call instructor at Vancouver Film School.

Stay tuned for more exciting news from Mel and drawnonward throughout the summer!

Leave a Reply

