IIDENT: The First Draft

A very satisfying stack of scripts.

This past week has been a whirlwind of creativity, emotion and late nights. But it has been worth it. I now have, as evidenced by the above photo, a COMPLETE FIRST DRAFT of IIDENT.

That’s right ladies and gents – I have written 99 pages of original screenplay and I could not be more happy or proud of myself. The inherent flaws of any first draft aside, I know that this is a culmination of many disparate things for me.

I never in a million years thought I would be a writer. Even when I took a couple of screenwriting courses to learn more about plot and narrative I was loathe to actually call myself a writer. I felt like an imposter, just pretending to be a writer.

Later, when I started blogging, I still didn’t really think of myself as a writer even though I was technically writing all the time. “Blogging isn’t really writing” I told myself. Three years of NaBloPoMo later I can say without a shadow of doubt, blogging IS writing. At least it can be, its all what you make out of it. My blogging has made me more comfortable putting words on ‘paper’ and putting them out there for the world to read.

Six years ago I decided to diverge wildly from my 5 year plan to become an art teacher and decided to go to film school. I was inspired by Lord of the Rings, Jim Henson and the countless Sci Fi novels and movies I loved. It was my secret dream to make sci fi or fantasy films.. I dreamt of one day directing a re-make of Dune, my favorite book of all time.

All of this was preparation for this screenplay.

Not only is it my first feature length script, it is also in the sci fi genre. Tonight I was lucky enough to have a great group of people come over and read it with me for the first time. An exciting and terrifying prospect.
It could not have gone better. The feedback I received was insightful and useful and the positive reinforcement I got was priceless.

Now I can’t wait to see what draft 2 will look like.

Leave a Reply

